I struggle with how personal I should get on this blog.  I’m generally a pretty private person.  I don’t feel comfortable sharing many specifics about my family on my Facebook profile.  Here, on this blog, I like to share details about all the yummy food we eat in hopes of introducing a new idea or inspiring different nutritious options in your home.

But, my life is much more complex (as are other bloggers’ lives) than what you read here.

I have contemplated sharing a devastating occurrence in my family for the past week.  I have decided to share it because I would like to ask for your support.

My father-in-law, a mentor and father figure to me for the past 18 years, passed away after a brief illness.  Our family is still in shock and deeply saddened by this.  He was diagnosed with leukemia and just three and a half weeks later was gone.  He was just 69 and no one was ready to say goodbye.

I write today to ask you to consider this: donate your blood.

During the course of my father-in-law’s illness he received numerous blood transfusions.  If it wasn’t for the American Red Cross and the generous people who donate their blood, he wouldn’t have had all those blood transfusions that helped him feel better (if only for a short period of time).  If you have type O blood, then it’s even more important that you consider donating since you have the universal blood type.  Of course, there is a lot that goes into determining if blood is the right match for someone who needs a transfusion, but it’s helpful nonetheless.

Thank you for your support during this awfully difficult time.  I will be back soon…

