Tags

, ,

Freshly picked bok choy is popping up everywhere this spring and I encourage you to take some home! Bok choy can have a bitter taste if cooked too long, but when prepared properly it is a life force full of amazing vitamins and disease fighting properties.

I read about a bok choy recipe in Alicia Silverstone’s book, The Kind Diet.  She raved about her love of it and so I gave it a shot last year.  I can’t really explain how delicious it is, or how it makes me feel when I eat it.  But, I can tell you that I ate that whole plate!

Here is the recipe and some of my notes.  One word of caution:  do not add salt! The Ume Plum Vinegar has sea salt in it.  I recommend baby bok choy because it’s a little more tender.  Pictured above is “infant” bok choy that we get in a bag from our CSA.  I don’t have a better name for it, but the pieces were really small, about the size of my thumb.  I used a combination of flax oil and extra virgin olive oil and the result was so buttery!

Oh, and I can’t forget to mention that this dish takes all of just five minutes to prepare!

Have you tried this recipe before? If not, what is your favorite way to prepare bok choy?

