Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Chia Hemp Breakfast Pudding (the little black specs are the hemp seeds)

I am always looking for quick and easy breakfast ideas to add to my repertoire.  I tend to rely on the old standbys of oatmeal (both steel cut oats and rolled oats) and sprouted grain muffin (I use Ezekiel) or homemade wheat toast with nut butter and jam or honey, always with a side of freshly made juice or smoothie.

As I consider new everyday breakfast options, it’s ideal for them to fit into these categories:

  • fast
  • few steps
  • easy to commit to memory
  • adaptable

I have wanted to try a chia pudding for a while.  Having used black chia seeds in smoothies and other dips (like the fabulous chia caramel dip from Green and Crunchy’s Sheri), I loved their nutrition profile (high in omega 3s, omega 6s and fiber) and cool gelling action. (Yes, I am talking the same chia seeds from the 80s ch-ch-ch-chia commercials.  Surprising, isn’t it!?)

Recently, I saw white chia seeds used in a pancake recipe by one of my favorite vegan cookbook authors, Dreena Burton.  So, I ordered a pack of those intending to make her pancakes.  But, after finding I didn’t have all the ingredients, I sought to use them elsewhere and ended up making this breakfast pudding (or any time of day pudding!).

Chia Hemp Breakfast Pudding (adapted from the back of the Nutiva White Chia package)

  • 3/4 cup almond milk, vanilla and unsweetened (you can substitute other milks, but make sure you add a dash of vanilla extract if the milk doesn’t have it in it)
  • 2 T white chia seeds (I use Nutiva that I bought through vitacost; a little pricey, but the bag will last a long time)
  • 2 T hemp seeds (I use Nutiva organic shelled hemp seeds, purchased through amazon or vitacost)
  • 1/2 apple, thinly sliced and diced (North Star Orchard apples are our favorite)
  • 1 tsp. maple syrup (or other sweetener to taste)

Step one:  Get all the ingredients ready.  Combine the almond milk and chia seeds and let stand for 20-ish minutes (soaking time is not exact, but the longer you let it sit, the firmer the pudding).  This is a good time to shower or dress the kids.

Step two:  Add all the other ingredients and mix well.  The pudding should be thick with little puffed up seeds.  The texture will be similar to tapioca pudding.

Here are additional chia recipes from the Nutiva web site.  And, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the very simple chia pudding recipe that Gena of Choosing Raw features on her blog (with lots of great dietary info since she is a nutritionist!).

Have you tried chia pudding and, if so, what is your favorite recipe?

