Tags

, , , , ,

On the way out of the Oakmont Farmers Market yesterday, we paused at a new table selling fresh-squeezed lemonade made without sugar.  We love lemonade as a summer treat, and so we perused the menu and quickly picked the white peach and ginger.  As we were waiting, my son was melting (not because of the heat) because he didn’t want to be in his stroller anymore.  I made a quick change of plans and decided it best to save the market patrons’ ears and walk away quickly from the lemonade stand.  Off to make our own at home!

For some time I have wanted to make a version using the liquid stevia I had on hand, but I didn’t know how much to use.  I’d only used stevia one other time to sweeten iced tea and was a little nervous about using so much to sweeten lemonade.  However, things change quickly when you’ve got two kids who are hot and asking for lemonade made with “real lemons”.  Oh, and did I mention, that I really wanted some, too?

I found a bunch of recipes online – most using simple syrup and some using powdered stevia.  I didn’t find one with liquid stevia that I liked well enough to make.  So, as necessity is the mother of invention, here you go:

Fresh-Squeezed Lemonade (with Stevia)

  • 4 cups water
  • 3/4 cup lemon juice (from lemons, not bottled juice)
  • 25 drops of liquid stevia

Squeeze lemons.  Mix lemon juice and water, then add stevia to taste.  Refrigerate until cold, or serve over ice.

I like my lemonade to be a little tart, so adjust per your preference.  (Keep in mind that if you are drinking the lemonade while eating something sweet your tastebuds will be skewed, and if you sweeten too much it might be too sweet when drunk alone.)

If you decide to try this, let me know if you like it!

Enjoy the rest of your summer, perhaps with a glass of lemonade on the side?

Do you have a favorite lemonade recipe?

