Tags

, , , , , ,

I love when I can make something delicious out of a combination of whole foods in five minutes.  These experiences keep me from buying packaged foods.  I know I can make something delicious that costs less, has no preservatives, is fresh and tastes delicious.

I made this Mango Salsa the other night for a quick dinner with black bean and pineapple quesadillas.

kidoing! Mango Salsa

(Makes approximately 12 oz depending on the size of mangos you use.)

  • 2 whole mangos
  • 1/3 c red onions
  • 2 T fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 lime

If you like a chunky salsa, just chop the mangos, onions and cilantro as you like them, add the rest of the ingredients and voila.  If you like a pureed salsa, which is what we like, blend ingredients in a blender or pulse all ingredients in a food processor.

Alternatives:

1.  This recipe can be made with pineapples instead of mangos.  I would use 1/2 of a whole pineapple.

2.  I kept it simple, but if you like your salsa spicy add a bit of chopped jalapenos.

3.  You could also mix in chopped avocados.  I would probably add them at the end after pureeing or they will dramatically change the texture of the salsa.

Getting Kids Doing! Tip:  Kids of all ages can help gather all the ingredients.  Older children can help wash and chop.  I love to let my kids smell each of the ingredients before they are put together…mangos, red onions, cilantro and lime all have magnificent fragrances.

Do you like sweet or spicy salsas? Or both?

