Tags

, , , , ,

We make many varieties of green smoothies in our house.  It is a GREAT way to get children to eat their greens.  This version is another favorite.  It can be made well in any blender since it uses spinach which is much softer and easier to break down than kale.  Of course, you can play around with it and use other leafy greens if you want.

Orange-Pineapple Banana Green Smoothie*

  • 2 c baby spinach
  • 1 orange peeled (high speed blender folks can leave whole; otherwise, cut into quarters)
  • 1/2 c fresh or frozen pineapple
  • 1 large frozen banana
  • 1 c coconut water (or use plain water, but I like the electrolytes the coconut water provides)
  • 1T hemp seeds (or 1 squirt hemp oil, or even flax oil)
  • small handful of ice

Blend really well until all ingredients are well assimilated and smooth.  If your blender gets bogged down at any time, scrape down the sides and try again.  If that doesn’t work, add a little more liquid.  Don’t add too much or you’ll have green soup!

Getting Kids Doing Tip:  My toddler son loves to help me in the kitchen.  One of his favorite things to do is unload the refrigerator – whether or not I need his help.  So, when I make smoothies, I call on him to transport all the fruits and veggies to the counter.  I tell him what they are as he takes them.

What’s Next…

I am incredibly excited to say that I am working on a blog post for Renee at FIMBY, one of my favorite natural family living blogs.  Keep an eye out for that in the next couple weeks.

I have a bunch of other blog topics on my list for kidoing!, too.  Here’s what’s to come, so keep checking back.

  • Easy 2-Ingredient Homemade Applesauce
  • Feeding Your Family Well – on a Budget
  • Making Your Own Fruit Leather

*Please note that all of my recipes are originals created by kidoing!, unless I am given permission to reprint a recipe that I have made and love from another source, which I will disclose.  I welcome you to share my recipes on your blog or Facebook page; I only ask that you please link back to this original post.  Thanks!

