Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I often get asked what I feed my kids, especially when I tell people they eat very little meat, no dairy, and no refined sugar (at home, which is where most of their meals are).  There are so many options that don’t fall into those three categories, and they are eating better than before we made these changes.

As my 22 month-old son was eating lunch today, I thought that it might be helpful to share what he ate and how much.  (Keep in mind, I am not a doctor, nor a nutritionist.  I am a mom who has read a lot of nutrition/”diet” books and do my best every day to ensure a balanced diet.) I always try to include one or more foods that are on the kidoing! Immunity Poster.

  • 1/2 c of whole wheat elbows with homemade tomato sauce and cannellini beans*
  • 1/2 avocado, cut up*
  • 1/2 kosher pickle (raw and fermented from Bubbies full of good probiotics)
  • 1 strip of red bell pepper*
  • 12 pistachios, shelled
  • 4 nori seaweed sheets (from Trader Joe’s made from seaweed, canola oil, sesame oil, and sea salt)
  • water

His lunch was served on a small 8″ round stainless steel plate found at an Indian grocery store.  Stainless steel is great for kids because it’s virtually indestructible and nontoxic.

*Foods on the kidoing! Immunity Poster

