If you read my smoothie post, you know I am a VitaMix fan.  My son would say I’m cuckoo for VitaMix (that was his new word of the day).  I do love my machine and believe it was a truly life-changing investment on our journey to better nutrition.  My kids are eating every vegetable imaginable – all whizzed up in a delicious smoothie.

With this high-speed, industrial-strength blender, I make nut and seed butters, nut milks, coconut milk, hummus, pestos, sauces, gravies, ice cream (no kidding – with fruit, dairy free and takes just a couple minutes), soups…you get the picture.  I almost forgot that with my dry container (sold separately), I can make any kind of flour – wheat (directly from wheat berries), chickpea, quinoa, oat, barley, rice, etc.  When I make my own flour, I save money (special flours like the ones I mentioned are expensive) and I save time (I buy all of my grains/legumes/seeds in bulk and use them for both cooking and making flour).  And, best of all, my flours are fresh.

I feel compelled to share with you that VitaMix is offering a factory reconditioned 5200 machine (the one I have – also factory reconditioned) on sale for $359.  I know this is a big investment, but we think it’s worth it.  My husband, who is even more frugal than I, asked me why we didn’t buy one years ago after he tasted our first smoothie.

Note:  I am not affiliated with VitaMix, nor will I receive anything if you purchase from them.  I am just a woman who loves her machine and, frankly, don’t know if I could ever live without it.

