Tags

, , , , , ,

Mr. Kale and Ms. Pineapple have finally tied the knot.  They said their “I Dos” and honeymooned in the Caribbean. Now they are back (with a little one in tow named baby Coconut Milk) and they’ve landed in my smoothie!

The combination of kale and pineapple when juiced or blended is spectacular.  The sweet pineapple and the rich earthy kale complement each other.

One of our favorite green smoothies is a Pineapple Kale Green Smoothie.  The original recipe came from my lactation consultant when my daughter was born and I have tweaked it to suit our tastes.  Kale is a galactogogue, which means milk stimulator.  So, in addition to all the great vitamins, minerals and protein in this smoothie, a nursing mom can increase her milk supply!

Pineapple Kale Green Smoothie

Makes approximately 4 Cups

1 c Fresh Cut Pineapple

1 c Coconut Milk (I use full fat, but reduced fat is OK)

1/2 c Water

3 Kale Leaves* (lacinato “dinosaur” or curly OK)

1 Frozen Banana

2 T Hemp Seeds (or 1 T Hemp Oil)

Small Handful of Ice Cubes

Combine all in a high-powered blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy!

Getting Kids Doing! Tip:  Kids love to wash produce.  Put a stool to the sink and have them wash the kale.  They can also put all the ingredients into the blender (while the blender is off, of course!).

*If you have a high powered blender, such as the VitaMix or the Blendtec, feel free to keep the stem on the kale.  Otherwise, it’s best to remove the stem to get a smoother end result.

A note on blenders:  Ask anyone, I can’t stop talking about my VitaMix.  It’s been one gadget that truly changed our lives.  I use it two to three times a day to make all kinds of things.  If you are in a position to buy a high-powered blender I wholly recommend VitaMix.  I hear Blendtec is also good, but I’ve never used one.  The results from this blender are outstanding…smoothies are completely smooth and creamy.  If you are using a standard blender you may get a slightly different result.  The key is to make sure you have enough liquid in the mix so you get a well-blended consistency.

