Tags

, , , , ,

I like a LOT of taco sour cream (dairy-free) on my salad!

Yesterday was so hot and humid I was scared to turn on the oven or even use the stovetop.  Our downstairs a/c unit was on 70, although the house thermostat registered at 80 degrees.  I guess it couldn’t keep up! I’m hopeful that these heat and humidity spells are few and far between this summer (no such luck, I know…).

When I don’t want to heat the house up any more, I turn to cold foods, or raw foods.  However, it can be a challenge for my family to eat a raw food dinner and be completely satisfied when we are starving.

Last night I made a salad that was very satisfying and I didn’t have to turn on a single heat generating appliance!

It was a tex mex taco salad…crisp, soft red lettuce from our garden, brown rice/black bean/roasted pepper/tomato/cilantro mix, guacamole, and raw taco sour cream (dairy free!).

Here’s how I did it.  (It took about 20 minutes to make a large salad that fed two adults and two children with a tiny bit leftover.  Each person had two servings.)

Step 1:  Wash, dry and tear lettuce into bite sized pieces.  Place on bottom of large pasta bowl.

Step 2.  In a medium bowl, mix 2.5 cups of cooked brown rice (I used my sprouted brown rice that I had in the fridge), 1 can of rinsed black beans (I use Eden BPA-free beans when I don’t have any homemade), 1 large chopped fresh tomato, 1 large chopped roasted red pepper, and a small handful of chopped cilantro.  I salted along the way using sea salt and squeezed half a lime over the mixture, then stirred again.

Step 3.  Make the guacamole by smashing two avocados, half a lime and sea salt together.  Mix until creamy.

Step 4.  Make the taco sour cream by adding one cup of raw cashews to a blender or food processor, 2 tsp of apple cider vinegar, juice of one lime, 1/2 tsp. chili powder, and a pinch of salt.  Blend or process, adding water until you reach your desired consistency.

Step 5.  Top lettuce with rice mixture, guacamole and taco sour cream.  Voila!

This salad would be great with some sliced black olives, a little diced jalapeno for heat, and some crumbled tortilla chips (raw or not).

This salad was fresh, creamy and full of flavor.  There was no oil from a salad dressing, but lots of good fats from the avocados and cashews.  A make-again, for certain!

What’s your favorite no-cook hot weather meal?

