Tags

, , , ,

Peanut Butter Banana Hotcakes with Fresh Local Berries

I have made a lot of pancakes in my life.  I started making them when I was a teenager at home using Bisquick pancake mix.  When I went away to college and started my independent life I tried making them, only to have one disaster after another.

When my daughter was born, I wanted to make light and fluffy whole grain “from scratch” pancakes.  I tried many, many different recipes and settled on one that required buttermilk or kefir and whipped egg whites.  The recipe worked really well.

However, as we changed our diets, I wanted a recipe with no eggs and no dairy.  Since then, I’ve tried about 6-8 more recipes…some were delicious, but flat; others were gummy and didn’t cook.

About a year plus ago, I read the book Raising Vegetarian Children by Jo Stepaniak and Vesanto Melina and found a bunch of wonderful, highly nutritive recipes in the back of the book – all very kid-friendly!

One of the recipes was Peanut Butter Banana Hotcakes and I thought – what could be better than peanut butter AND banana in pancakes?!?

Well, these pancakes are a winner and definitely our favorite.  I cook them in a stainless steel pan with a light layer of coconut oil.  They are light and fluffy with a nice crisp outer, and taste delicious.  The bananas make them slightly sweet so there is no need for maple syrup.

I contacted the authors of the book and asked for permission to reprint the recipe here on kidoing!, so here you go!

Peanut Butter Banana Hotcakes

copyright © Jo Stepaniak and Vesanto Melina, Raising Vegetarian Children, reprinted by permission of the authors

Makes about 18 pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 small, ripe bananas, mashed (about 2/3 cup)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
  • 1 cup fortified vanilla nondairy milk

In a medium bowl, combine flour and baking powder.  In a separate bowl, cream together banana and peanut butter; stir in milk.  Pour banana mixture into flour mixture and stir until well combined.

Oil a large, heavy skillet or griddle and place over medium high heat.  When hot, spoon in batter using 2 tablespoons for each pancake.  Spread out using the back of a spoon.  Cook until bottoms are brown, adjusting heat as necessary.  Turn over and cook other side briefly; just until golden.  To prevent sticking, oil skillet well between batches.

Here are my notes on making this recipe:

I use whole wheat pastry flour and unsweetened almond milk (without vanilla flavor).  If I remember, I add a splash of vanilla extract, although the pancakes are still delicious without.  I use a large stainless steel saute pan with a coating of coconut oil (either Nutiva or Vitacost brand) and reapply the coconut oil in between each batch.  Make sure your baking powder is fresh so they rise like they should (I use Bob’s Red Mill and have good results).  The peanut butter and banana flavors are slightly detectable to me; not overpowering at all.  The bananas are mashed so they are unlike those diner banana pancakes with the sliced rounds of bananas in them.

If you are cooking for someone with nut allergies, replace the peanut butter with sunflower seed butter (found in the stores until the name of Sunbutter or make your own by taking sunflower seeds and grinding them in a food processor until creamy) and use a different nondairy milk (such as hemp, oat, soy, etc.).

Give this recipe a try! I think you’ll love it as much as we do.

