Tags

, , , , ,

Happy Mother’s Day!

We took a trip to Lancaster County yesterday to our favorite natural foods store, a really large greenhouse to pick up the rest of our garden plants, a quaint little town for lunch and then to an historic site, Hopewell Furnace.  It was a full day and we all enjoyed a day away from the mundane stuff at home.  It was a beautiful day full of sun and blue skies, perfect for a spring adventure.

During our trip in the car, I noticed while wearing sandals for the first time this season that I had some rough patches on my toes and that my calves were really dry.  I had been putting off making a homemade sugar scrub since before Christmas-time (that I knew now that I really needed!).  Luckily, over the past couple weeks I had been preparing to start making some homemade body/cleaning products by picking up a few extra essential oil scents, carrier oils, and also some cleaning supply ingredients.  At the sight of my feet and legs, I realized that there was no better time that last night to make my scrub and pamper myself (just a little!) on Mother’s Day.

The recipe was so simple and took all of four ingredients. Don’t delay in making this like I did.  It’s so simple, smells wonderful and does a great job removing dry skin.

Lavender Sweet Orange Sugar Scrub

  • 6T organic cane sugar
  • 2T olive oil (regular, not extra virgin)*
  • 15 drops of lavender essential oil
  • 10 drops of sweet orange essential oil

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and mix.  You may need to use more or less sugar – that will depend on how much the sugar absorbs the oil (start with 4T and go from there; I ended up at 6T).  Transfer to container (I used a small glass Pyrex bowl with plastic cover).  I’m keeping mine in the shower where it’s pretty dark, but if you are keeping your scrub where it’s always exposed to light, you may want to use a dark container so as not to damage the essential oils.

*You may also use another carrier oil.  Sweet almond, grapeseed or sunflower oil would work well.

If all goes well, in the coming months I hope to have some more recipes, or at least show you what I’ve been making.  I have been devouring Do It Gorgeously by Sophie Uliano, which has a wide number of recipes for homemade eco-friendly body care and cleaning solutions.  (Oh, and I do have a neat trick to share that my husband figured out trying to unclog sinks and tubs!)

I hope you enjoyed the flowers.  These pictures were taken this morning at one of our favorite places to take a walk, Jenkins Arboretum.  It’s a beautiful property and a meaningful way to spend Mother’s Day morning.

With love to you and your families,

Jennifer

