Tags

,

I was craving carrot ginger soup on this chilly day today and just couldn’t put my finger on a recipe that met my criteria – creamy, rich, dairy-free and quick!

I have been making the Creamy Carrot Curry Soup from John Robbins for a while now and love it, so (bingo!) the idea occurred to modify that recipe.

And so my carrot ginger soup was born!

This soup is rich (without cream or any non-dairy substitute) and really flavorful but not too biting from the ginger.  We are finished with lunch and I keep going back for more as I type this post!

Carrot Ginger Soup

(adapted from Creamy Carrot Curry Soup from John Robbins)

serves 4 as a side or 2 as a light meal

  • 1/2 of a large sweet onion, chopped
  • 3 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 T vegetable broth powder (I use Vegebase, but I’m sure you could use bouillon or even vegetable broth instead of water and broth powder)
  • 1/2 (rounded) cup of toasted raw cashews
  • 2 T tamari (soy sauce will also work)
  • 1 1/2 inch ginger, peeled and diced
  • 1 tsp of sea salt (or to taste)

Combine onion, carrots, water and vegetable broth powder in medium saucepan.  Bring to boil and let simmer for about 10-15 minutes until the vegetables are soft.  While the vegetables are cooking, toast the cashews.

Place toasted cashews, tamari, and ginger in blender.  Once vegetables and broth are ready, transfer to blender.  Start with 1/2 tsp salt.  Blend.  Add more salt and/or ginger to taste.  Blend until creamy.

