Tags

, , ,

Black-Eyed Pea Salad with Corn and Peppers from Peas and Thank You

I’m not particularly superstitious, at least not with those tragic superstitions such as “step on a crack and you break your mother’s back.”

Yikes.

But, I could always use a little prosperity, so we’ve been eating a lot of black-eyed peas since New Year’s Eve.

On New Year’s Eve, we made Black-Eyed Peas Hummus.  I liked it a lot.  The roasted garlic and caramelized onions gave it an intense flavor, but I could have made it a bit creamier with the addition of more pea cooking liquid or water.  Next time…

Did you know that dried black-eyed peas don’t need to soaked before cooking? This little tidbit will prompt me to make them more often – I try really hard to be good at planning, but it doesn’t always work out the way it should.

The kids ate four small bowls each of black-eyed peas during lunch today.  Good thing I cooked up such a large batch!

And, finally tonight, I used the last of my peas and whipped up Mama Pea’s Black-Eyed Pea Salad with Corn and Peppers (pictured above) that she posted this morning.  I’m letting it marinate overnight for a snack or lunch tomorrow.  (I must admit, I tried it – actually, many spoonfuls already – and it’s so good!)  Note:  I used cilantro instead of parsley and scallions instead of onions.

All those black-eyed peas surely have earned me at least $10, or something like that.  Don’t you think?

